This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Clarification on Arabic Character Classification

Apr 16, 2012 at 6:49 PM

Assalaamu Alaikum,

I am new to QuranCode (and Heliwave), but am also intrigued by the granularity of research potential that it offers.

I have spent some time looking at the amazing19.xls on Heliwave.com; I am a little confused on a  couple of points:

1. In the Statistics tab, you have summarized the letter occurance frequency for each Surah;

a. I am able to get the same counts as you for almost all the letters in Surah al Faatiha, but am struggling with the letters Alif. Can you please clarify the significane of AlifKhanjareeya and whether it counts as an Alif

b. With the exception of Surah al Faatiha (and Surah al Tawbah), you seem to be including the Basmallah as part of your statistics - is this intentional?

Jazaakumullahu ahsan al Jazaa in advance

Ma Salaam

Coordinator
Apr 18, 2012 at 5:45 PM
Edited Apr 18, 2012 at 6:52 PM

Salam brother and thank you for raising such questions.

a) All superscripted letters are for pronunciation only to keep the encrypted book Readable (i.e. Quran).
Not only the Elf but there is also Hamza, Yaa and Noon as seen in:
    superscripted Elf (e.g. Quran 1:2)
    superscripted Hamza (e.g. 104:7)
    superscripted Yaa (e.g. 2:258)
    superscripted Noon (e.g. 21:88)